Wednesday, January 6, 2010

Hall of Fame Class Announced Today

Today at 2:00 pm the 2010 Class of the Baseball Hall of Fame will be announced. Former Cincinnati Red Barry Larkin is eligible for the Hall for the first time this year. I have read a number of articles from voters who say that they think Larkin is a Hall of Famer but not a first ballot hall of famer which to me is ridiculous. Can you look at Larkin's career and determine that he was one of the best of his era? Yes! Then if that is the case he deserves to be in the Hall. I think Larkin should be there but I think because writers feel your first year on the ballot is sacred he will have to wait another year before he is enshrined. Here is the list of players on this years ballot.

Andre Dawson
Barry Larkin

Bert Blyleven
Lee Smith
Jack Morris
Tim Raines
Mark McGwire
Alan Trammell
Dave Parker
Don Mattingly
Dale Murphy
Harold Baines

New Candidates
Roberto Alomar
Kevin Appier
Ellis Burks
Andrés Galarraga
Pat Hentgen
Mike Jackson
Eric Karros
Ray Lankford
Barry Larkin
Edgar Martinez
Fred McGriff
Shane Reynolds
David Segui
Robin Ventura
Todd Zeile


redleg2420 said...

Larkin should be a Hall of Famer and I think he will eventually. If Ozzie Smith is a sure thing, first ballot Hall of Famer, then why isn't Barry. He was a far superior offensive player, team captain, MVP, won a world championship and was a damn good defensive player as well. He had all the tools.

I think Dawson, Morris, Raines, Alomar and maybe Edgar Martinez are the other Hall of Famers on this list. Raines gets no respect, and I don't understand that.

My guess is Alomar and Dawson will be the only inductees this year. And of course, Shane Reynolds!

Adam said...

If I had a vote I would pick: Alomar, Larkin, Raines, Trammel and Martinez. I agree with you Tim Raines was tough and if you look at his numbers across the board he should be in. We shall see how it shakes out. I am not crazy about Dawson's numbers but who doesn't love the Hawk?